- See some flood-related Q&As about mobile homes
- Info about destroyed mobile homes
- See this info and financial help from CVOEO's statewide Mobile Home Program
- If you own your mobile home, check to see if you are eligible for a grant from USDA Rural Development (RD) to repair your home.
Vermont law has special protections for people who own their mobile home and rent a mobile home lot or rent a mobile home from the park owner.
The law says the park owner has to give you a signed copy of a written lease when you move in. The lease has to tell you these things:
- the date your lease starts
- how much you have to pay for rent per month
- how much you have to pay for utilities (water, septic)
- how much you will be charged for anything else: late fees, court service, administrative fees, attorneys fees
- the name and address of the park owner
- a notice telling you that the park owner will not discriminate against park residents
- a notice telling you that you have to get permission from the park owner before leasing or selling a mobile home
- how much advance notice you have to give before you want to end your lease
It is illegal for the park owner to charge you any charges that are not included in the lease.
These things that your lease tells you are called “lease terms.” Lease terms must be the same for everyone in the park. If everyone in the park doesn’t have to obey one of the lease terms, then the park owner can’t make anyone obey that lease term.
Mobile home parks are regulated by the Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development’s Housing Division. There are rules that park owners must follow. For example, they can’t charge a late fee for your rent if it wasn’t spelled out in your lease. All park rules and policies must be listed in your lease.
If the park owner wants to change something in your lease other than how much rent you have to pay, the owner has to tell you in writing 30 days before the change will happen. The owner has to tell you 60 days before raising your rent and has to follow other rules. Visit our Lot Rent Increases page for more information.
If you have questions, you may be able to get free legal help. Fill out our form and we will call you back. Your information will be sent to Legal Services Vermont, which screens requests for help for both Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont. You can also call us at 1-800-889-2047.
You can also call the CVOEO Mobile Home Project at 802-660-3455, ext. 204. They may be able to help.
For more information and rules about mobile home parks, go to: