VHAP PROGRAM HELPS HOMEOWNERS: The Vermont Homeowner Assistance Program (VHAP) provides grants of up to $30,000 to eligible homeowners who have financial problems because of COVID and are behind on expenses for the house they own and live in. The grants may help pay mortgages, property taxes, homeowner’s insurance premiums, association fees, utilities and other expenses. Learn more about VHAP.
Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit
Vermont homeowners need to file a homestead declaration, even if you are not required to file a tax return.
If you don’t file this form, you will have to pay the rate that people who do not live in property they own have to pay. You may also miss out on help from the state to pay your property taxes.
- You can file your homestead declaration and property tax credit form when you file your taxes.
- The deadline to file your tax return is April 18, 2023.
- The final date to file your homestead declaration and property tax credit form is October 15, 2023. This is different from most tax benefits. You will pay a late filing fee. You can’t get a property tax credit if you file after October 15.
File online: Visit the Vermont Department of Taxes website to file your homestead declaration and property tax credit form online.
Get help: You can find free help to file your homestead declaration and property tax adjustment claim, if you meet the income limits.
Important: Did you get a letter about a property tax adjustment that lowers the amount you have to pay? If so, mail a copy of it right away to the escrow department of your mortgage company. Vermont law says the mortgage company has to recalculate your escrow payment within 30 days of getting the revised bill. This is important because your monthly escrow payment should go down.
If you cannot pay your property taxes
In Vermont, if you own your home and cannot pay your property taxes because your income is low, there may be something you can do. A city or town can decide that some or all of a person's property taxes are forgiven because the homeowner is unable to pay them. This is called a “property tax abatement.”
Vermont law says that cities or towns can abate (forgive) all or part of a person's property tax, interest and collection fees because he or she is unable to pay.